Log in


Topaz, the official gemstone of Texas, was thought in ancient times to enhance vision. Women In Film Dallas established the Topaz Award in 1987 to honor distinguished Texans who, through their own vision, have made outstanding contributions to the film and television industry.

For years, the Topaz Awards has evoked the glamour of the past by honoring women and men in the present. This occasion allows us to recognize the outstanding contributions, dedication, and trailblazing efforts of individuals with ties to the Lone Star State. Past recipients of the Topaz Awards are a veritable “who’s who” of achievement, offering inspiration and vision to all who attend. The Topaz Awards provides an opportunity to express our gratitude to these women and men as role models in the entertainment industry.

The Topaz Award

Angie Harmon

2019 Award Recipient

Topaz Award

Previous recipients include: Linda Gray (1987), Tess Harper (1988), Shelly Duvall (1989), Ann Miller (1990), Phylicia Rashad (1991), Katherine Helmond (1992), Cyd Charisse (1993), Ginger Rogers (1994), Linda Ellerbee (1995), Debbie Allen (1996), JoBeth Williams (1997), Judith Ivey (1998), Patricia Richardson (1999), Peri Gilpin (2000), Marcia Gay Harden (2001), Janine Turner (2002), Sheree Wilson (2003), Bonnie Curtis (2004), Irma P. Hall (2005), Morgan Fairchild (2006).

Rising Star Award

Established in 2007 / 2008, this award recognizes and honors a notable woman who has made significant strides in her young career. In the inaugural year of this award, Women In Film Dallas was proud to bestow the first honor to former WIFD Scholarship Recipient, Amy Talkington (2008), Fonya Mondell (2012), Allison Tolman (2014).

Spirit Award
Created for the 2008 Topaz Awards, this award honors a woman who has not only made significant contributions to the local and Texas production industry but has also worked to develop other women's careers in the industry.  Recipients include: Sylvia Gill (2008), Meredith Stephens (2011), Mary Collins (2012).

Achievement Award
The Achievement Award was established in 1988 to recognize and honor a notable woman who has made a significant contribution to the local and / or state wide film and television industry.  Previous recipients include: Lee Duncan (1988), Carolyn Camp (1989), Marillyn Burton Seeberger (1990), Kim Dawson (1991), Ginny Martin and Sylvia Komatsu (1992), Rody Kent (1993), Betty Buckley (1994), Ann Richards (1995), Peggy Taylor (1996), Gloria Campos (1997), Suzie Humphries (1998), Bobbie Wygant (1999), Jane Sumner (2000), Cynthia Salzman Mondell (2001), Kathy Tyner (2002), Jo Edna Boldin (2003), Shirley Abrams (2004), Janis Burklund (2005), Linda McAlister (2006), Melina McKinnon (2011).

Advocacy Award
Previous recipients include: Veletta Forsythe Lill (2004), Lois Finkelman (2005), Dr. Elba Garcia (2006), Hector Garcia (2008), Trish Avery (2012).

Legacy Award
Recognizing outstanding contributions to the film and television industry, the prestigious Legacy Award, presented on only six occasions acknowledges a lifetime of achievement and a classic body of work.  Previous recipients include: Martin Jurow (1993), Greer Garson (1995), Dale Evans (1996), Norma Young (posthumously, 1998), Shari Rhodes (2001), Ada Lynn (2006), Lynne Moon (2012), Ruth Buzzi (2014).

Humanitarian Award Created in 1997, the Humanitarian Award is a special honor presented to an individual whose selfless acts demonstrate a dedication and devotion to the promotion of positive human development.  This award has been presented to:  Chuck Norris (1997), Garry Brown (2008), Rogers Hartmann (2011).

Gratitude Award
The Gratitude Award is presented to an outstanding individual who has served as a gracious benefactor and contributed time and effort to television and film presence in the Metroplex and the great state of Texas. Previous recipients include: Chuck Norris (2001), Gary Cogill (2002), Larry Hagman (2003), Ed Delaney (posthumously, 2005), Don Stokes (2008), Dennis Bishop (2014).

Copyright 2018 Women in Film Dallas

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software